VOCES8 new album released – “Infinity”

Following a string of globally successful virtual festivals, VOCES8 release brand new album Infinity, out now on Decca Classics. This new collection of meditative and otherworldly choral recordings transcends genres and features six brand-new compositions interspersed with eight newly arranged covers from renowned composers.

Stream Infinity HERE

In this space-inspired concept album, VOCES8 leads listeners on an introspective journey beyond our world, inviting them to escape for an hour of contemplative and calming music. The sublime blended voices of VOCES8 are intermingled with ethereal strings, harp, bowed vibraphones and, in one of the new compositions, a sample of the Sputnik satellite.

The first single from the album, Scene Suspended, is a beautiful reworking of celebrated classically trained electronic artist and producer Jon Hopkins’ 2020 composition. Hopkins has produced and contributed to albums by Brian Eno, Coldplay, Imogen Heap and many more. The single has been arranged for wordless voices and harp by composer and orchestrator Geoff Lawson, whose credits include Maleficent, Black Panther, Thor Ragnarok.

Alongside Scene Suspended, Infinity features eight diverse new choral arrangements with highlights including a spine-tingling recording of Þorkell Sigurbjörnsson’s composition Heyr himna smiður, a contemporary setting of a popular 13th-century Icelandic hymn and an emotive performance of Jóhann Jóhannsson’s A Pile of Dust, which features in the original soundtrack for the 2017 biopic The Mercy, arranged here for a cappella voices by rising star composer Benjamin Rimmer. Also featured is Still, a vocal reworking of Ola Gjeilo‘s piano track recorded on his Decca Classics hit album Night, a striking new version of multi-award-winning composer, producer and cellist Hildur Guðnadóttir’s Ascent from her 2009 album Without Sinking, arranged by conductor, producer and co-founder of the London Contemporary Orchestra, Robert Ames. Guðnadóttir’s compositions include feature films Arrival and The Revenant as well as her 2019 Academy Award-winning score for The Joker.

The collection also boasts six brand new compositions including The Universe Within You, an uplifting cinematic work from celebrated composer Stephen Barton, whose credits include original video game soundtracks for Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order and Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered; There is a Solitude, a spellbinding a cappella creation by composer and pianist Luke Howard with words by Emily Dickinson; and My Mind Is Still, a soothing and uplifting piece composed by award-winning composer Nainita Desai, behind emotive soundtracks for The Reason I Jump, For Sama, American Murder: The Family Next Door.

This exquisite collection of songs celebrates a diverse range of composers from the worlds of film, game, alternative and contemporary classical music and showcases VOCES8’s unique style and versatility.

Infinity Tracklisting: (** New Compositions)

  1. By Night (Sophie Hutchings)
  2. Helium Life Jacket (Slow Meadow)
  3. Scene Suspended (Jon Hopkins)
  4. Heyr himna smiður (Þorkell Sigurbjörnsson)
  5. A Pile of Dust (Jóhann Jóhannsson)
  6. Find Our Way (Kelly Lee Owens & Sebastian Plano) **
  7. momentary (Ólafur Arnalds)
  8. Infinity (Anne Lovett) **
  9. In the Shining Blackness (Benjamin Rimmer) **
  10. Still (Ola Gjeilo)
  11. The Universe Within You (Stephen Barton) **
  12. My Mind is Still (Nainita Desai) **
  13. Ascent (Hildur Guðnadóttir)
  14. Atomos XI (A Winged Victory for the Sullen)
  15. There is a Solitude (Luke Howard) **

(1-3, 7, 8, 10, 12, 14 arr. Geoff Lawson, 5 arr. Benjamin Rimmer, 13 arr. Robert Ames, 6 arr. Jim Clements)

VOCES8 new album released – “Infinity”VOCES8 new album released – “Infinity”

More news