A New World, by Paul Smith

'A New World' published by Edition Peters, in 5 movements.

5 titles newly published

Paul Smith’s ‘A New World’ has been released by Edition Peters. Available as part of the VOCES8 Singles series they join his two other publications, the VOCES8 Method and Pas de Deux.

‘A New World’ is a musical story across five movements with texts by authors from Cicero and Ovid to George William Russel; from nursery rhymes to war poets. The music and texts link to form a narrative that questions what sort of ‘New Worlds’ have come into existence, or could be created in our future, and considers how we balance human traits of fear, displacement, isolation and conflict with equally human traits of love, hope, forgiveness and unity.
‘A New World’ will be premiered in Durham Cathedral on February 7th next year as part of the Durham Vocal Festival.

The pieces are available here.

A New World, by Paul Smith

More news